Home

Welcome Home: Our Yard

Hi! I thought it would be fun to share pictures of our yard with you. The yard is a big part of our house. We pretty much live outside in the summer, fall, and spring and spend as much time outside as possible. Welcome to our yard!

This is a picture of our front, side yard.

DSC_0034

We have a bunch of flowers and planters on our front patio.

DSC_0012 - CopyDSC_0036DSC_0039DSC_0040DSC_0043

I love my blush impatients.

DSC_0035

Here is our backyard…

DSC_0044

That pine tree is so big and has started to kill the grass underneath. We will eventually (Brandon) cut it down but right now it is a big dirt pit for the kids (as you can see). I also have a smaller herb garden to the left with chives, cilantro, parsley, carrots, radishes, and lettuce.

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

And my favorite part of the yard are all my veggies…

We have 7 Early Girl plants and 1 Better Boy. We also have 3 different cherry tomato plants.

DSC_0047DSC_0049

I love growing basil but earwigs have eaten 3 out of 4 plants. I need to replace them. Basil is one of my favorite herbs.DSC_0050

This is my zucchini and squash garden box.DSC_0051DSC_0052DSC_0053

A few of my “Must Have” gardening supplies are…

DSC_0054

  • I spray my plants down weekly with Sevin. I like the spray version better than the powder version. The powder version will kill your squash and zucchini plants so watch out. I use this on my flowers and veggies.
  • Dynamite Mater Magic is GREAT for tomatoes. Just add a couple of capfuls to the soil around your tomatoes every three months. Your tomatoes grow bigger and juicier.
  • Deadline Bug Bait attracts pests (like earwigs, ants and slugs) away from your plants and kills the. I LOVE it because it does not go onto the plan itself, but around the outside of your garden.
  • Miracle-Gro is my favorite fertilizer for both flowers and veggies. I use it often. I bought this big container for around $12 at Costco and have had it for two years now.

I do most of the yard work myself. I love mowing and fertilizing, pulling weeds, and watering. Here are some of my suggestions for a healthy yard…

  • I fertilize once a month and use the different Scotts fertilizers.
  • I spray once a month (for weeds)
  • Raise your mower and leave your grass longer in the summer. This helps your grass to not dry out.
  • Only mulch your grass when it is going to be consistently above 80. If not, bag your grass. This prevents rotting and fungus.

Do you do your own yard work? What tips am I missing? Thanks for stopping by.

-Jenna

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Welcome Home: Our Yard

    1. Brandon mixes me up some special “farmer-made” batch that will kill anything. πŸ™‚ But I know that Round-up works well too (a little spendy but worth it). You just can’t put it on your grass (it will kill it). If you need to spray weeds in your grass look for a broadleaf killer, Ortho-Weed-B-Gone-Max is a good one.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I am always jealous of your huge yard! πŸ™‚ It is so pretty. Flowers can be so temperamental sometimes. If it makes you feel better, I cannot grow a single house plant. At. All. I kill them every single time.

      Like

  1. You have such a green thumb. We don’t have any tomatoes yet but we have 4 plants! I can’t wait, those are my favorite. I also love Miracle Gro. My mom taught me to use it once a week and it helps so much! I wish I was closer to come have a coffee with you in your backyard! xoxo ERIN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Miracle Gro is the best! πŸ™‚ I like this stuff because I just shake it on and go about my day. No pre-mixing. Although that is not hard to do either.

      Like

Leave a Reply

