Jenna · Show and Tell Tuesday

The Struggle is Real…

Today I am linking with Andrea to share some of the things I struggle with…

a97ad-show2band2btell2btuesday2bgraphic

 

-Working Mom-

Being a working mom may be my number one struggle. I struggle with missing out on field trips with my kids, feeling like I put other people’s kiddos before my own sometimes, having to rush them out the door, making them a big breakfast each day (just a quick bowl of cereal) or when I miss a simple afternoon at home because I have a long meeting. I miss out on stuff…like Pastries for Parents day at school because I have to be in my own classroom so Brandon gets to do that, or if neither of us can, my mom gets to. If the kids have no school, I usually have Professional Development so thank goodness for my Mother-in-Law who has came to stay with the kiddos as well. It takes a village and lucky for us, we have a great one. One of the hardest parts of being a working mom is when my kiddos get sick. It’s not easy getting a sub so I rarely get to stay home with them. Being a working mom brings me all sorts of guilt and struggle.

img_6036

-Constant mess-

If you come over to my house at any given point there will probably be a blanket on the ground or something on the back of the couch…always. It drives me insane.

-Working out-

When I am in a routine, I do really well. When I get busy, exercise is one of the first things that gets thrown out. I have loved working out in the morning so far this summer but know when school starts afternoon runs and yoga will have to do.

img_5778

-My Sweet Tooth-

The struggle is real with this. I can eat healthy food all day but my sweet tooth can get the better of me sometimes.

Trying to stay focused...:

-Wanting to do it all-

I am a pleaser. If you have a committee that needs a volunteer, I am your girl. If you need someone to make snacks or treats, sign me up. If you have a project coming up and need something, let me know. Saying no is really hard for me, but it also can leave me feeling drained or not leaving enough time for the people and things I care most about. I hate feeling like I am disappointing people.

Another area that I struggle with that would fall under this category is wanting to make everything special for my kiddos. I want to cram as much fun and memories into each season, month, week, day. Sometimes I need to take a step back.

img_5882

-Saying “NO” to pretty pens and cute office supplies-

Seriously, office supplies are my love language.

I have an issue with office supplies. I only use certain ink pens, I color code all assignments, I color code my calendar. I always buy new binders and calendars. I’d like to think it’s just because I appreciate nice things and want to be organized.:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do we struggle with any of the same things? What is your biggest struggle? How do you overcome it each day? Thank you for reading today!

-Jenna

Also linking with

d1b76-unnamed

Stephanie at Wife Mommy Me | Pinterest | Facebook | Instagram
28 thoughts on “The Struggle is Real…

  1. I totally agree with each your struggles. I think the one that struggle with the most is the “working mom”. This year I think I’ve used almost all of my vacation days because I was at the school or with a sick kid. It is so hard to be in two places at once and I have missed so much for the past nine years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is SO hard to be in two places at once. I feel like I have missed so much as well. I hate missing out on things that my kids are in or choosing. I also hate feeling like I have a shorter patience at home some nights. It is so tough.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes to the working mom part, and sweets, ohhhh the struggle is SO real! And office supplies? I’m an addict and I don’t care, lol! Give me all the pens, notebooks and planners…and stickers…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am right there with you on so many of these: working mom, constant mess, sweet tooth, and more. I feel like I struggle mostly with balance. In trying to manage all of the areas of life so that I’m not feeling guilty about any of them. Thank goodness God gives us the strength and grace to handle it all!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhhhhh Trista! AMEN! Balancing is so tough. You are so right about grace and strength! I know grace is something I need to work on a little more. Thank you so much!

      Like

  4. We definitely struggle with some of the same things! I think teachers do have a really tough time with missing out on the kids activities at school and that would be hard for me. If you haven’t read The Best Yes yet you totally should. I have learned so well how to say no and to only pick those things that will fit well into my life which leaves me a lot less frustrated and overwhelmed. And yes….except there are usually about 4 blankets spread around everywhere at my house. I seriously feel like mine just grab a new one every single time they lay down! And Momma…I know it seems like we only have a little time with our kids and I struggled for so long wanting to make sure my kids had “all the experiences”. Can I tell you some of my “bigs” best memories are the lazy days at home? Isn’t it so nice to know that we are not alone in our struggles?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shelly, thank you SO much for your kind words. I am so glad to hear your “bigs” memories are of relaxing days at home. My mom and I were just talking about this, and I was telling her the same thing about my memories in the summer or any break. Seriously about the blankets though! They are all over and just random crap throughout the house and in random places. One day we will miss it though! Thank you for the book recommendation. I have seen the book and I will be reading it soon!

      Like

  5. I swear we are besties with the whole united states between us! HA
    I struggle with everything but the working mom. However, as much as I volunteer at the school I practically work there! Luckily, with Ben’s job it just made since for me to stay home.
    But luckily for you, you have an awesome job and you get the summers and holidays with your kiddos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heather, I agree (about the bestie part!). I think being a SAHM is so important. I wish I could have stayed home with my kiddos when they were babies and toddlers. If we could swing it, I know that I would be staying home as well. I do love my job, love my students, and love that I get to experience both being a SAHM in the summer and we get the same breaks. There are so many perks to my job 🙂 I am not going to lie, each August I have a little breakdown before going back to work because I know how badly I am going to miss my kiddos. 🙂 I love how much time you spend at your kiddos school, isn’t is fun to see them in their school element? I love getting a glimpse at their days and I don’t take that for granted. Thank you for all of your encouragement and support! Love ya!

      Like

  6. I could have written this post myself. Every single last bit of it. The working mom guilt has just gotten SO AWFUL for me these last two years and I am dying to be a SAHM. Unforunately it’s just not in the cards for us right now, though, so I’m trying my hardest to figure out a way to make it work. Unfortunately I CAN’T figure out how to make it work and it’s making me all kinds of frustrated.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so sorry Lindsay! I know that my working mom guilt really eased up when both kids started school full time this year. I still have my struggles, but it was nothing like those mornings when I would drop off at Daycare and they would cry for me. UGGGHHH! Those days were NOT easy! I pray that you can figure out a way to stay home with your kiddos!

      Like

    1. Thank you Beth. I think being a mom in general is the hardest and biggest struggle. No matter what, we all carry around guilt about something and we all have struggles. Building each other up and supporting each other is so important. You are always such an encouragement. Thank you!

      Like

  7. I think you’re my sister from another mister! 🙂 Doesn’t it just stink for our kids when we miss out on the school day events!? I hate it, and the moms on the PTA can just be big ol’ mean bitties that don’t cut you any slack. I’m getting better at saying no, but I also don’t like to let people down and want to help out when they need it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree Al! We have a lot of things in common. I do hate missing out on events at school, or feeling like I am putting people out to cover my classroom for a bit. My co-workers and administrators are REALLY good about covering though so I don’t miss out on too much. I am so grateful for that. Feeling like I am letting people down or saying “no” is really hard for me, I feel your pain!

      Like

    1. I feel really fortunate to teach at the same school as my kids. I see them throughout the day and get the best hugs. I get to see them interact with their friends, and I get to see how they behave at school. I love the adult interaction as well. I am really fortunate that our breaks are the same (except the few days when I have to work and they don’t have school). I really love my job, but the mom guilt gets to me sometimes 🙂

      Like

  8. I don’t work full time and my kids have cereal so there’s that 😉 BUT I totally remember when I worked full time how hard getting a sub was and the morning decisions Scott and I had to make, who had less meetings, etc! The mess is real here too….wrappers from granola bars and such drive me batty but I remind myself that they will be gone someday and just to take it in stride best I can…stepping back is always good. You are a great mom and friend 🙂 xoxo ERIN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those early mornings are the worst when you don’t know if you need to call in or not. Both kids have just had to come with me and lay in the corner while I have gotten the sub stuff lined out. And you are so right, these little messes are temporary. The good outweighs the bad ten-fold. I will miss the blankets on the floor and the random things on the backs of my couches one day! 🙂 Thanks for your encouraging words!

      Like

    1. Hahaha! After folding them both and picking them up 243,037 times that day I was over it…and look all the random crap laying around 🙂 LOL!

      Like

  9. You are a great mom!! You have happy kids!! I think we all struggle as working mom’s i know it’s hard for me too.
    and that mess…….some days I wish I was magic and could twinkle my nose to clean up the house!! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The little messes and random things drive me insane some days. 🙂 That super power would be awesome to have! It can be such a challenge to work, but also I know I am providing for my family. Thank you for your encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

