What I'm Reading

What I’m Reading {May 2017}

Hello! One of my favorite posts each month is this little link-up. I love getting book recommendations and seeing what everyone is reading. This month I read four great books. Maybe you have read one or two or you might want to read one or two. Take a look…

The first book I read has been a little controversial, “Thirteen Reasons“.

Thirteen Reasons Why by [Asher, Jay]

I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I wanted to read this book because I work closely with teens/tweens and think it is really important to stay “in the loop” with what they are reading, watching, hearing, and talking about. This book really opened my eyes to how small things can add up to become a big thing. This book emphasizes the importance of kindness, compassion. It also emphasizes the impact of rumors, teen struggle,s parties, and cliques. If you have teens or work with young adults, I highly recommend this book. I am currently watching this show as well. Teen suicide is an extremely touchy and emotional subject, but one that we need to bring awareness to.

The second book I read was “Bright Side” (which you can currently download on your kindle for FREE!)

Bright Side by [Holden, Kim]

I would give this book 3 out of 5 stars. It was a little predictable and corny, but good none the less. I really liked this book. Kate has had a hard life, but finally finds her happiness with Keller. Meanwhile, Keller has his own secret that he is keeping from Kate. This is a touching book about friendship and love. I really liked Kate’s friendship with Gus in this book.

Here is Amazon’s description…

Secrets.
Everyone has one.
Some are bigger than others.
And when secrets are revealed,
Some will heal you …
And some will end you.

Kate Sedgwick’s life has been anything but typical. She’s endured hardship and tragedy, but throughout it all she remains happy and optimistic (there’s a reason her best friend Gus calls her Bright Side). Kate is strong-willed, funny, smart, and musically gifted. She’s also never believed in love. So when Kate leaves San Diego to attend college in the small town of Grant, Minnesota, the last thing she expects is to fall in love with Keller Banks.

They both feel it.
But they each have a reason to fight it.
They each have a secret.

And when secrets are revealed,
Some will heal you …
And some will end you

The third book I read (along with pretty much every other 30-something year old….HA!) was “Unstuffed

Unstuffed: Decluttering Your Home, Mind and   Soul by [Soukup, Ruth]

Talk about a mind-changing and challenging book. I love being organized and while I did learn a little bit about organization, I really learned a lot about my mindset while reading this book. One of my favorite points that Ruth makes in this book is stuff does not equal memories. Just because you keep something from a particular place in time with particular people does not mean you will forget the memory if you get rid of the memento. Sometimes I hold on to things just for the sake of memory, when in fact, my memory will always be there and I am just keeping “stuff” and cluttering my home. Another point Ruth makes in this book that struck a cord with me is how “stuff”=success. The more we have the more successful we are (or so it appears). This really hit home with me, I have a tendancy to want, want, want, and can buy, buy, buy. I have really been thoughtful in purchases or lack there of. I really enjoyed this book and would give it 5 out of 5 stars for this genre of book.

The fourth book is by a wonderful new (to me) author that Stephanie recommended to me.

The Gravity of Us by [Cherry, Brittainy]

The Gravity of Us was such a good book. I would give it 5 out of 5 stars and will not be surprised if this ends up in my top 5 books of the year. I loved this book. It is about two people who are polar opposites who keep being pulled together in circumstance and choice. The twists and turns in this book kept me surprised, happy, and sad. I felt every emotion while reading this book and cannot wait to read more from Brittany Cherry. I highly suggest this book as your next read if you are looking for a new author.

Here is the description from Amazon…

Graham Russell and I weren’t made for one another.

I was driven by emotion; he was apathetic. I dreamed while he lived in nightmares. I cried when he had no tears to shed.

Despite his frozen heart and my readiness to run, we sometimes shared seconds. Seconds when our eyes locked and we saw each other’s secrets. Seconds when his lips tasted my fears, and I breathed in his pains. Seconds when we both imagined what it would be like to love one another.

Those seconds left us floating, but when reality knocked us sideways, gravity forced us to descend.

Graham Russell wasn’t a man who knew how to love, and I wasn’t a woman who knew how to either. Yet if I had the chance to fall again, I’d fall with him forever.

Even if we were destined to crash against solid ground.

What we have been reading in kindergarten…

 

Johannah from The Sirois Family
Whitney from Work it Mommy
Crystal from Hall around Texas 
Stephanie from Wife Mommy Me
Whitney from Polka-Dotty Place
Heather from My Glittery Heart
Justine from Little Dove Blog
18 thoughts on “What I’m Reading {May 2017}

    1. I guess it has been out for awhile and some High Schools use it to bring up the conversation about teen suicide. It was tough, but good.

      Like

    1. I hope you like it Heather. I think you should read it 13 Reasons… It was hard, but I liked reading it through the eyes of Clay. It was pretty eye opening and a good reminder of how much peer’s influence our feelings as a teenager. I have a harder time watching the show.

      Like

    1. Beth, I feel like I haven’t read for fun in a long time since this year. I was in graduate school for two years and read nothing but journals…then I needed a break (for about 3 months)…enter January and I have been a reading fool. It was like a snowball effect. You should pick up a book 🙂

      Like

    1. I hope you like it Andrea. I loved it and cannot wait to pick up another one of her books…and if you have a Kindle, it is free 🙂

      Like

    1. That is how I feel…I have to choose Netflix or read 🙂 Hahahaha! I can’t wait to get some reading in this summer and Netflix binging 🙂 What are you watching on Netflix right now?

      Like

  1. I have heard that the 13 Reasons book is so much better than the Netflix show. Reading allows you to make your own images in your mind, while the series is pretty graphic and disturbing. I should definitely read it since I have two teens in the house. Thanks for the recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you should read it Tanya. It’s a subject we hate thinking about, but kids are talking about it. You are right about the book and show.

      Like

Leave a Reply

