Holiday · Weekend Recap

Weekend Recap {Memorial Day Edition}

Hello! I hope you all had a happy Memorial Day Weekend and took some time to remember the real reason why we have such a special day. We enjoyed our weekend to the fullest.

On Friday we got out of school early and after a favorite lunch…a whole bunch of random things, the kiddos both took naps. I could not believe it. I spent the afternoon cleaning, doing laundry, and mowing the yard.

Friday night we had Family Movie Night. We watched the movie “Home” and had popcorn with peanut butter M&M’s.

Brandon had to work on Saturday morning so the kids and I made some Blackberry Buckle and watched a couple episodes of The Brady Bunch.


After Brandon got home, I grabbed Guy and we headed to a Birthday party. This kid is a fish. It was his first time swimming since last summer and he just jumped in like he had been swimming all year.

After the party we came home and started working in our yard. We weeded and cut down a butterfly bush that had died. The kids jumped on the trampoline and played catch while Brandon and I worked. We also cleaned our car port and back patio. By clean, I mean sweep and pick the bikes up.

Sunday was pretty busy. We did some more yard work and played outside most of the morning. For lunch we went to try a new burger place and got burgers and shakes for lunch. Then we had friends over for pizza and game night. We played Dominos and our favorite, Pinochle.

What is it about summer nights that make entertaining so much fun? We enjoyed ice cold beers and some fun games, while the kids just ran around outside, jumping on the trampoline, running through the sprinkler and squirt gun fights. It was the perfect evening and went late into the night.

Monday was laid back. We slept in and then I watched the movie “Me Before You”. Last summer I had read the book and did not want to read “Me After You”. After seeing the movie I now need to read that book.

We spent the day doing crafts and coloring. Reading, playing outside, and going for a bike ride.

It was a good weekend full of fun, family, and friends. I hope you had a great Memorial Day Weekend.

-Jenna

Linking up with

d1b76-unnamed

Stephanie at Wife Mommy Me | Pinterest | Facebook | Instagram
Also linking with Johannah and Heather  for their Hello, Monday link up
hellomonday
24 thoughts on “Weekend Recap {Memorial Day Edition}

    1. Game night is always fun! We love games around here. I didn’t grow up playing cards but my husband did and so it has been fun to learn throughout the years. I want to learn to play cribbage next.

      Like

  1. That blackberry buckle…yum!! I still have not watched Me Before You…I seriously loved the book so much and bawled my eyes out. Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is how I was with it the book too Shelly! Have you read “Me After You” yet? I need to read that. For some reason I couldn’t just jump into that…too many emotions! 🙂

      Like

    1. OHHHHH! I didn’t know there would be a third book. I am really excited about that. I now need to read it.

      Like

    1. Thanks Erin! It was so much fun to let the kids just run and enjoy some beverages and adult conversation. I hope you had a great weekend!

      Like

    1. Those are some of the best weekends! Especially coming off of the crazy week that you just had. I Hope you all are feeling better!

      Like

    1. Thank you Andrea! Blackberry Buckle is so yummy, any kind of coffee cake is good 🙂 Thanks for stopping in!

      Like

  2. Sounds like you guys had a great weekend! My family loves playing Domino’s and the women in my family love Pinochle. Well any card game really. 😉

    Like

    1. Pinochle is always so much fun. It had been awhile since I last played so I was a little rusty but after about 3 hands I started to get into a groove. Cards are so much fun. Who doesn’t love Dominos! 🙂 Thanks for stopping in Jenny!

      Like

    1. Those are our favorites as well. I feel like we need to recharge on the weekends. I loved playing cards, that is something that we haven’t done in a long time so that was a lot of fun.

      Like

    1. I am pretty excited to read the second book now. I feel like I am emotionally ready for it! Hahaha! But now I am curious to what happens next 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

