Summer · Uncategorized

10 on the 10th…10 Must Have’s for Summer Vacation

Today I am linking with my friend Erin and sharing 10 Must Haves for Summer Vacation! We still have a month left of school, but you better believe my kids are in full countdown mode. We LOVE summer vacation. Here are my top must-haves for our summer break…

ONE

Books! My kiddos do a really great job of reading every day after school but if I am not fully prepared for their reading in the summer, sometimes it doesn’t happen (GASP-and I am even a teacher). We head to the Book Fair before summer break, and also load up on books from Costco to get excited about summer reading. We also take part in our local library’s summer reading program. Another way I ensure that reading gets done is to do it in the morning. Before we begin our day we can watch 30 minutes of TV and then read for 30 minutes. This way the kids can slowly wake up, and we don’t forget about our reading.

img_5695

img_4247

TWO

Every summer needs a bucket list! We have not made our bucket list yet but we include a bunch of different activities ranging in price points. The kids love sitting down and making this list. I can’t wait to share it with you soon!

THREE

Rub in sunscreen. Two years ago I sprayed some sunscreen gently on Guy’s face and it burned him. We will only use rub in sunscreen from now on. No more aerosol cans.

No automatic alt text available.

FOUR

A fun vacation!

DSC_0097

FIVE

A garden. We have had a garden since Brandon and I have been married. Our favorite part is tomatoes…followed closely by zucchini (for chocolate chip zucchini bread).

DSC_0027DSC_0004

SIX

Baseball games.

Image may contain: one or more people, stadium, outdoor and closeup

Image may contain: 1 person

img_1420

SEVEN

Swimming in the pool and beach days.

EIGHT

Mom days! Each month my co-workers and I do something fun like go on a floating trip or to a winery.

img_3160img_3114

NINE

Harvest (July, August, and September)

img_3443

TEN

Those unexpected longer nights, road trips, traditions, and memory makers…

There you have it, my Top Ten list of must-do’s and how we plan our summer vacation. I love summer break and how much time we get to spend together as a family. I love leaving time open so we can create memories that we will remember for a lifetime. What are your top 10 must haves for summer?

-Jenna

You can also see my other 10 on the 10th posts…

10 on the 10th: 10 Items in my Purse

10 of my Favorite Household Tips and Hacks…

10 Random Facts about me…

I am also linking with Shay for Workin’ It Wednesday

a9f5c-workin25272bit2bwednesdays

 

21 thoughts on “10 on the 10th…10 Must Have’s for Summer Vacation

  1. Perfect round up for the upcoming vacation season girl! Poor Guy’s face, my youngest is very very fair and I literally have to slather the sunscreen on him every 30 minutes. Unfortunately when I’m not around he is gotten some burns. Swimming and beach days are the best and so are you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear you Andrea, Maddi and I have such fair skin and we burn so easily. We should buy stock in Coppertone 🙂

      Like

    1. I agree with you Beth! Summer and Christmas, the best times of the year! I cannot wait for summer. It is sooooo close! I hope your summer break is off to a great start!

      Like

    1. 14 more days, how exciting! I bet they are so excited. I am not wanting to let my little class of students go, we have had such a great year so summer is a little bittersweet this year for me!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my word, I’m so glad that you mentioned the spray on sunscreen issue. That’s pretty much all we use on our kids, although, I typically spray it on my hand and then rub it on their faces. I’m going to be so worried to use that this year! I just bought a twin-pack! Eek! I’ll be sure to be very careful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was so scared for him but it all worked out. Him and I both have such sensitive skin though, so that could have been the reason 🙂

      Like

  3. Love your list! : I’ve been storing away new books for my 1-year-old for our upcoming vacation and just to have new stuff to rotate in as he’s getting older and needs some new material 😉 I can’t believe that about the spray suncreen- scary!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhhhh I love new books! My kids get just as excited! Have you read any Sandra Boytin books? My kids LOVED her books when they were younger and they are board books so they last. You can usually find some great board books at Costco or Sams. Thank you Erin!

      Like

  4. Oh my goodness he got burned from that aerosol sunscreen 😦 AHHHH so scary and I use that stuff :(. I love that you guys do fun things like bucket lists, late nights and fun events too. I love, love, love being home with my birdies in the nest in the summer. BTW how awesome that you and your coworkers do something fun in the summer together. LOVE THAT. Thanks for linking up my sweet friend and PS so excited I found you on IG today ;). YIPPEE! xoxo ERIN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was pretty scary. We cannot wait for our bucket list, the kiddos are having fun thinking of ideas already even though we are a month out. It does make me smile to see them always thinking of our traditions first to add to the list. Our “mom days” are our favorite days. I love my co-workers 🙂 I am also SOOOO happy you found me on insta, I can’t wait to follow along with you!

      Like

    1. We love going to baseball games if any kind, but the Mariners are our favorite! Thanks for stopping by Whitney!

      Like

Leave a Reply

