What I'm Reading

What I’m Reading {April 2017}

Hello and Happy Book day! I love sharing what I have been reading, but I REALLY love checking out what everyone else has been reading so I can find some new reads. This past month I read three different books and one of them made me think of ways to simplify and slow down and the importance of relaxation and comfort, while one was a pretty good read and the other was just mmmmeehhhh.

Young Wives Club

The Young Wives Club: A Novel by [Pennell, Julie]

I would give this Book 2 out of 5 stars.

I found this book really hard to relate to. This book is about a group of friends (ages 18-early 20’s) who are either married or in a relationship. One girl dropped out of High School to follow her boyfriend/husband. It was really hard for me to relate to any of these characters and the book did not draw me in. I love the show Friday Night Lights, this kind of reminded me of a book they would write off of the series, yet not nearly as engaging or relate-able. I see 21 year old Jenna really enjoying this book…32 year old Jenna…not so much.

The next book I read was Collen Hoover’s “Maybe Someday”.

Maybe Someday by [Hoover, Colleen]

I loved the book “It Ends with Us”. It is probably one of my favorite books to date so I was excited to read another Colleen Hoover book. I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I really liked this book. The characters are all college aged, but I was engaged in this book and found the characters and story line interesting and could not wait to see where the story went. If you like chick-lit (ME!), you will like this story. It is a good book to pick up and read at any time. ***WARNING*** DO NOT expect this book to be anywhere as good as “It Ends With Us”, but it is still a really good book!

The third book I read was very interesting and right up my alley…The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living

The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living by [Wiking, Meik]

I would rate this book 5 out of 5 stars (if you are wanting to look into hygge)

I have been reading about Danish culture for so long. So often in the education world we hear about how the Danish children and school system is the best (happiest kids/best school). These little articles pop up all over. In my Masters program Danish studies were very popular on how to create a great classroom environment. Now, Hygge is popping up everywhere. It is the art of living cozy and comfortable. Sipping a hot drink, slowing down, leaving work without bringing it home with you, being in the moment with people, the importance of cooking together. I LOVED this book and took so much to heart. I love how Meik Wiking explained hygge throughout different seasons (not just winter, wrapped in blankets, drinking tea and reading a book). I like his advice and research on how happy people are and why, and different practices to employ in my own life. This is a really good book and a really quick read. I encourage everyone who enjoys spending less, spending time with loved ones, and really wanting to simplify to read this book. It is full of great tips and advice.

In kindergarten we have been reading…

Maddi has been reading non-stop…

Next Maddi is going to read a book about Ariana Grande (so random).

Guy has been reading/listening to some chapter books that my sister got him…

We have been reading up a storm around here. I am so excited for summer reading. What books do you plan on reading this summer? How do you encourage reading during the summer with your kiddos?

-Jenna

 what-were-reading-wednesday
Johannah from The Sirois Family
Whitney from Work it Mommy
Crystal from Hall around Texas 
Stephanie from Wife Mommy Me
Whitney from Polka-Dotty Place
Heather from My Glittery Heart
Justine from Little Dove Blog
Also linking with these wonderful ladies,

18 thoughts on “What I’m Reading {April 2017}

    1. Laura, it is SO good. It was really helpful to read, and a really quick read. I liked how the author explains hygge in different seasons, throughout different parts of your day, and the importance of connecting with people. So many times we are connected through technology, not human connection.It is a great read and I highly recommend it! 🙂

      Like

  1. I haven’t picked up another Colleen Hoover book because I’m afraid I would compare everyone to “It ends with us” and I’m with you…that is one of my very favorite books ever!

    I’m excited about our book club! Ella has only started the book…I want her to want to read! She is killing my book-loving mama heart! HA

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha! She will get into it, don’t worry! I am so excited for the book club too! Just expect any Colleen Hoover book to never be as good. Ha! It was SO hard not to compare the two. I did like the book a lot but it just wasn’t the same.

      Like

  2. Love your Reviews! I read November 9 by Colleen Hoover and was let down as nothing can touch It Ends with Us. Getting ready to read The couple next door. Have a terrific day pretty lady!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OHHHHH I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on “The Couple Next Door”. I have almost hit purchase on that one. I think any Colleen Hoover book will be a little bit of a let down after “It Ends With Us” (because that was just such a great book) but she is such a good writer!

      Like

    1. OHHHHH I love that she read it that quickly and was so in to it. Maddi loved it. I also like these comic book style chapter books they are coming out with now. It keeps Maddi really engaged. I am SO glad that Marissa liked it! What other books does Marissa like to read? I would love suggestions for Maddi!

      Like

  3. Love Colleen Hoover!! I’ve read several of her books and like them all!! Her bookworm store is actually in the town I work…..but I’ve never been by there! I need to make a point to go in there, she does lots of great things for our community!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad to hear that she is such a nice and giving person. I am excited to read another one of her books soon. I am not sure which one to read next. Any suggestions?

      Like

    1. I can’t wait to hear how you like it. I thought it was really interesting and really practical. Nothing earth shattering, but full of good reminders.

      Like

    1. Alex, I bet this book would be a really good read for you and your fiance. It is not only about homes, but how to make your life a little happier as well. I loved it!

      Like

  4. What a great list of books and that Hygge thing is really interesting too many and that thought of “coziness”. I of course love all those kids books and we have a few Matt Christopher ones, anything sports is usually a sure bet for my guy! xoxo ERIN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Erin, I bet you would love the Hygge book. I loved it and do find it interesting and have actually looked back over some of the things to recall information. It was really good. Guy is all about the Matt Christopher books which is good. He is not my book worm but I do want him to love reading so I am happy with any book he likes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

