Jenna

Just Breathe

Hi all,

So today’s post is short and sweet. Do you ever get the sense that no matter what you do, you just can’t keep up…or if you can keep up, your head is just barely above water? Yep, that is where I am at. While I am absolutely loving my kids in all the activities, it is hard to keep up. We have soccer four nights a week plus games. Then last night we had a baseball meeting and now on top of that we have baseball practice. Then, add in all the meetings and other commitments and I feel swamped. I am barely above water right now.

Anyone else feel this way? How do you cope?

Brandon and I have had some extensive conversations about this. Our life since kids has pretty much been one or two things a week max. Now all of a sudden we are busy every weekend with sports and activities, and during the week we are busy with practices and appointments and meetings all after working a full day. Brandon’s spring farm work is gearing up and so this also adds to the crazy.

This morning I sat down for my quiet time and started reading my devotional. God is so good. Today was all about taking time to focus on the Lord. Focus on the Lord and you will see all the small things he is doing for you. Focus on the Lord and he will reveal himself to you. Throughout all this chaos I have forgot one important thing. To just breath and thank God for all he is doing. For all of the small things and take notice and give thanksgiving for all the small and wonderful things God is doing in my life. We may be busy, but we still have time for family dinners each night, we get to see our family this weekend, we get to celebrate Maddi’s Birthday on Saturday and have a family fun night on Friday. I get to enter a classroom of kids who are so excited to tell me about their loose teeth, their sight words, and see our classroom caterpillars. I have a husband who is basically working two jobs right now, stop everything to take one of his kids to a practice or grocery shopping for a Birthday party.

So while life is busy and chaotic right now, it will slow down in three months. While life is busy and chaotic right now, my focus is going to be on God. In prayer and thought. When I feel like I cannot add anything to my already full plate, or feel like I am slowly going under, keeping my focus on the Lord is what I am going to do. Sometimes that is hard for me. Sometimes I get so wrapped up in what is happening to me that keeping focus is a struggle.

If you are in a busy season right now, don’t forget to breathe. Don’t forget to focus on the one who never loses focus on you. Don’t forget to look for those little things and bits of joy in the midst of crazy. I hope you have a wonderful day.

-Jenna

8 thoughts on “Just Breathe

  1. Thank you for this reminder today! I am right there with you! Feeling like I can barely keep my head above water. But I do have to remember to breathe! In 2 months…school will be out and life will be all about the lake and the pool! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Have a great day friend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heather, I keep telling myself that as well. I know we will slow down in the summer and I will be good with that! Until then, I will just enjoy all the things! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by today!

      Like

  2. Yes! Oh many how quickly that feeling can creep up without you even realizing it and then there you are flailing around, making no progress! I love that you turned to God in quietness at His feet. I need to remember to do that and not let fear and being overwhelmed rule over God’s power. Big hugs my friend, love your authenticity! xoxo ERIN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Erin. I really tried to focus on God today and the little things and I actually felt in control so that is a big win. Business is a choice so I can either embrace it or fight it. Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

