Home · Tips and Tricks

10 of my Favorite Household Tips and Hacks…

I love cleaning hacks. I love having a clean home. I am linking up with the wonderful Erin from Perfectly Port Family for her fun link-up (10 on the 10th)…

ONE

Pillow cleaning tips::

TWO

I feel like a person can clean virtually anything with these three products…

Image result for Dawn Dish Soap

Image result for Hydrogen Peroxide

Image result for Baking Soda

THREE

Anyone else have microfiber couches? We got a new set out couches right after Maddi was born and it was the WORST mistake to get microfiber with a new baby. I foundย this hack a long time ago on Pintrest and continue to use it today…

How to clean a microfiber couch:

FOUR

Storing sheets and linens inside of pillow cases is the perfect way to organize your linen closets. It also makes it easy for when you have guests staying over. I keep all the pillow cases, fitted sheets, as well as flat sheets in one matching pillow case.

Overhaul your linen cupboard โ€“ store bedlinen sets inside one of their own pillowcases and there will be no more hunting through piles for a match.:

FIVE

Decluttering. You guys, I made a goal at the beginning of the year to go through 40 different places throughout my house and get rid of at least one garbage bag full of stuff. This was AMAZING! My kids and husband loved helping with this so much which made it that much more fun. Cutting the clutter is a HUGE step in maintaining an organized and clean home. I thought I would show you the different places around my home that I de-cluttered…

img_4613img_4612

SIX

Invest in the Martha Stewart Homekeeping Handbook. If I ever need cleaning advice I turn to this book every single time. I love this book, it is full of great, practical advice.Image result for Martha Stewart Cleaning Book

SEVEN

Keeping the outside of your house clean is important as well. We power wash the outside of our house several times a year, I also clean the outside windows once a month with a little squirt of Dawn dishsoap, Jet Dry (just a little squirt), and hot water. This works wonders. And this sounds weird, but I use newspaper to wipe my windows down with. My grandma and great-grandma swear by this trick and I do to. You get no “fuzz” or lint leftover on your window, and it leaves your windows streak free.

EIGHT

Do a little each day. Each day we set a timer and pick up our stuff. I also fold blankets and put them away, as well as vacuum. Vacuum lines just make me happy. I wipe down my counter tops after I load the dishwasher (I run a load of dishes each night), and then sweep my kitchen. I also complete at least one load of laundry each day (washing, drying, folding, and putting away). This way I feel like I stay on top of housework which makes me a little calmer. Some days…I don’t feel like it and that is ok to. Giving yourself grace is a must!

NINE

I love this trick to wipe my walls. I use a Swiffer Sweeper with the Swiffer Sweeper Wet Jet Towels to wipe my walls down. The Swiffer allows me to read ch the really high places on the walls.

Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mopping Cloth Refill - Open Window Fresh - 24 ct

TEN

Mr. Clean Erasers. What wont these things clean? I mean I use them all the time on all sorts of surfaces. I even use them to clean Converse and sneakers.

ย Image result for Mr. Clean Eraser

I am so excited to read everyone’s posts about their favorite cleaning tips and tricks. I love cleaning my home, it is something that I actually enjoy doing and love getting new tips and tricks. Am I missing anything? What is your BEST cleaning advice or cleaning secret? What about your can’t-live-without-cleaning-product? I I would love to hear it! Thanks for stopping by today!

-Jenna

14 thoughts on “10 of my Favorite Household Tips and Hacks…

  1. I love a clean house as well!! What great tips!!
    I use magic erasers for everything. To clean your windows do you just add the dish soap, jet dry, and water into a spray bottle?? Can you reuse any that is left over??
    Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I put it in a bucket and throw it out when I am done ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sure you could put it in a spray bottle to use for later, that would be a good idea!

      Like

    1. What can I use copper scouring pads to clean? I do use SOS pads but would love to hear more about copper! Thanks!

      Like

    1. Random question Beth, I have been too afraid to try vinegar because I am afraid my house will smell like it! Does the smell linger? What do you use the vinegar for? Thanks for any input!

      Like

    1. Stephanie, I agree! I LOVE having my house clean. I feel like I can relax more if I have a clean house than if not. That does not always mean my home is picked up, because the majority of the day there is always something laying in the floor that should be in one of the kids room, but I love knowing that in under 10 minutes our house looks nice put together! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    1. I agree about doing a little each day making it so much easier. If I wait till the end of the week…AHHH! It looks like a bomb went off. And YES to the newspaper! Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So I love baking soda too ๐Ÿ™‚ and you just need to come address my linen closet stat…I am embarrassed to say I use the roll and stuff method. And let’s just say Mr. Clean erasers have saved me from many an unfortunate permanent marker drawing! Also I love your list of 40 places to clean out – you know I love a good list! Thanks for linking up ๐Ÿ™‚ I have met the best blogger friends in the world…big giant squeeze to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mr. Clean erasers have saved my life…well I should really say my kids lives! Hahaha! I use them all the time. The list really helped me stay on track and I thanks for hosting this fun link up, I look forward to it each month! Big giant squeeze back!

      Like

    1. Jenny, I love the magic erasers. What did we do without them? They literally clean everything! I hope you had a great weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

