Health · Tips and Tricks

Fitin’ in the Fitness

Today I am linking with The Blended Blog ladies for their fun Monday Link-Up. Today is all about Fitness.

To be honest, fitness has always been so on and off for me. I was not into sports in High School, I went to the gym for the first time ever when I went to college and felt completely overwhelmed so I quit going, and I never made fitness a priority in my younger years. Then I had babies and it is so hard to find time to work out when you have young kids. So. Hard. Add working full time out of the house and it seemed virtually impossible. So I joined a gym for a couple of months, we moved to a new house which was farther away from the gym and I stopped going. I was not healthy. Five years ago my husband and I lost around 40 pounds each just by eating healthy and doing weight watchers. In the past two years I have gained most of that back (insert life, being a mom, working full time and going to graduate school full time). I had no time for exercising and am an emotional eater. It did not end well.

Funny Pictures Of The Day ā€“ 56 Pics:

Last spring I started the Couch to 5 K program and trained and ran a race. Then, I hurt my foot at the end of summer (plantar fasciitis) and so I had to quit running for the time being. In the last two months health has become a habit and REALLY important to me. I want my kiddos to see me eating healthy and making fitness a priority. I work full time and am on my feet pretty much all day long at work, I used to tell myself that was good enough. After running last spring and summer and now, I have a few tricks that I like to use to help keep me motivated to work out after a long day at work.

I lay my workout clothes out each morning. I put them on my bed or in my bag (I take a yoga class once a week). Nothing motivates me more when I get home than having my tennis shoes ready to go and my clothes. This helps me get motivated even on days I want to come home and sit on the couch. I also schedule my workouts so that I know which days I need to lay out my clothes.

img_5049

Get it done. I come home, change into my clothes and get my workout done. I take about one hour each day to get my workout in. My kids are doing their homework, eating a snack, and putting their things away during this time. They are also at an age where they can entertain themselves with games and outside time. This has been so nice. With younger kids I felt like I could never get in a good workout before they would need me.

img_5018

Make an investment. A gym does not work for me. I do not want to take my kids to gym care after being in school all day #momguilt. I also need to get my workout done right away when I get home or I will procrastinate and find 534,948,049 things to do instead of workout. My husband surprised me with a treadmill about three years ago and it has been the best investment. Also, I have been taking a yoga class for a couple of years and I invested in a Manduka Pro Yoga Mat after about 3 months of steady practice. I get a lot of use out of the mat and love it. Fitness is an investment and using good tools is helpful.

img_4710

Good tunes. I NEED music to run or walk to. I have a great playlist that I run or walk to. I also listen to Pandora Top 40’s station sometimes as well.

My face when a good song comes on during my workout.:

Good food that fuels the body. Eating is just as important as working out. I am trying to eat a heavy plant-based diet right now and only indulge in lean proteins as an indulgence. Also, I have not had alcohol since the New Year.

Friends. My friends and family are always motivating me to keep going. If I have questions, I know I can ask several people who can help answer. Also, this little blogging community has been so helpful and motivating as well. I love the ladies who help me with my monthly Fit-Fluence (Fit-Fluence February 2017/Fit-Fluence January) posts and offer advice and encouragement.

Find what you love. I have been going to a yoga class for three years and sometimes I am a good yogi who has five practices a week or just a horrible yogi and only attend the class during the week. I also really enjoy being outside and working out or inside on my treadmill. I love these forms of fitness. I do not think I would like crossfit so I don’t go. I would be really intimidated. I think group classes (like yoga) help hold me accountable and train muscles that I don’t use otherwise while running and walking are something I can get lost in.

So on point :

Set goals and crush them. I have set a couple of Fittness and health goals this month and am working on reaching all of them.

Since the new year has started, fitness and health have been on the forefront of my mind. I am a better wife, mom, and teacher because I take the time to work out and eat healthy. I am so excited to get some more motivation today from the other posts in the link-up. Have a great Monday!

-Jenna

10 thoughts on “Fitin’ in the Fitness

  1. Great tips Jenna! I definitely think laying out your clothes to see when you get home would be a big motivator…and makes it harder to ignore. I’ve been on the struggle bus lately and while I love working out and don’t mind eating healthy (mostly) I’ve put on about 15lbs and being patient while it comes off is no fun. I’ll be cheering you on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the encouragement Shelly. I am so looking forward to a time when my kiddos can wake themselves up and get dressed and ready for school by themselves so I can get in a morning workout. There are some major perks with your kids getting older. Thanks for stopping in!

      Like

  2. I am so over the moon that you joined us at TBB for the fitness nuggets today. I absolutely love your determination and how funny is that that we both had the Richard Simmons Meme. I’m still so in love with the color of your workout shoes girl! You know I’m in your corner, any day anytime! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find it the most hard to start. Now that I am in a routine I like it. Just talking myself back into working out is just as hard as the workouts at the beginning! Hahaha! Have a great day!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

