Clean Home · Organization · Uncategorized

A Busy Person’s Guide to Cleaning

cleaningAs a working mom of two young kiddos, cleaning and organizing is important. My mantra is “do a little something each day”. This helps keep me focused and organized throughout the week. There are some cleaning chores I complete each day, while some chores get done weekly. I thought I would share with you how I created a cleaning routine that worked for me, as well as my daily and weekly chores.

Daily:

  • Make the bed. This is the first thing I do each and every morning. It really sets the stage for a productive day and makes me feel refreshed.
  • Wash, dry, fold and put away at least one load of laundry. I start a load of laundry in the morning before work and as soon as I am home I switch the laundry to the dryer. I like to fold and put the laundry away immediately. This prevents piles of clean laundry or getting the clean and dirty laundry mixed up.
  • Clean the floors. I vacuum and sweep daily. I also use my Swiffer mop pad every other day in the kitchen after dinner.
  • Pick up as you go. I don’t know about your home, but when we get home “stuff” hits the fan. The kids come in and dump their stuff, lunch boxes, coats, backpacks, folders, everything. It might be one of the most stressful times of the day. They “make” their own snacks (I have a little basket in my fridge and pantry for their snacks, all they have to do is grab and eat). While they are doing that I go through all of their papers and folders and then they put their own backpacks and coats away where they go as well as empty and wipe out their lunch boxes. At dinner, I am constantly cleaning as I go. If I drip something, I wipe it up. This is helpful and makes clean up at the end quick.
  • Wipe surfaces daily.  I wipe down my kitchen counters, tables, and the bathroom counters daily with Clorox wipes. I wipe down my kitchen table after each meal, my counter tops after dinner (or during meal prep) and then my bathroom gets wiped down before I leave for work after I have brushed my teeth.
  • Pick up “all the stuff”. Each time we leave a room we look around for something to take with us. We love blankets, but those need folded up and hung up throughout the day or they are found on the floor. I set the timer for 10 minutes and we all run around the house putting things where they go. We usually do this right after we finish dinner. It makes it more fun to try to beat the clock. Also, it helps teach our kiddos responsibility.

I do so much better keeping up with my home keeping if I keep in mind my weekly schedule as well as routine. If I know that I have a PTO meeting, I try to do a crock pot meal and that way my counters are already clean after dinner. I might just have to sweep the floor. Knowing what my daily schedule is going to be not only helps with my time management, but also the different chores I will have time to accomplish.

On the weekends is when I do a lot of the deep cleaning. Scrubbing the bathrooms, mopping, dusting, errands, and washing all of the bedding and towels. I always love learning how others fit in cleaning and organizing into their daily lives without a cleaning service. What tips do you have? Am I missing out on something? I will be sharing my cleaning buckets and how I organize supplies soon. As well as the different products and ways I clean the different rooms in our house.

I hope you have a great day. Thanks for stopping in.

-Jenna

4 thoughts on “A Busy Person’s Guide to Cleaning

    1. That is so nice that they can help! My kids do really well at loading the dishwasher and little chores, but we still struggle with cleaning their rooms! Hahahah!

      Like

    1. Hi Stephanie, I also like to keep my house company ready. With a quick sweep just to make sure everything is picked up because #kids. Hahaha! But seriously 🙂 I hope you have a great Friday!

      Like

Leave a Reply

