Christmas · Home · Show and Tell Tuesday

2016 Ornament Show and Tell and our Favorite Traditions

Today I am linking with Johannah, Beth, Justine, Stephanie and Heather to share my favorite ornaments. And Andrea for a little show-and-tell Tuesday about our favorite holiday traditions.

Let me start by saying that you will immediately notice my branches are LOADED with ornaments. Please make note, most of the ornaments featured on today’s post are front and center on my tree and on go up the first 4 and a half feet. My kids do all of the decorating of the tree and tell me which bulbs to hang high. Our tree is front heavy, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

dsc_0051dsc_0050

Now on to my favorite ornaments that adorn our tree…

My absolute favorites are the handprints and baby pictures. Any ornament my kids have made have been saved and placed on our tree.

dsc_0001dsc_0002dsc_0003

I also love our wedding ornaments. These were both from our first year as a married couple. We went to DisneyLand/California for our Honeymoon and I always love hanging the snowflake on our tree as well.

dsc_0007dsc_0006

The classic ornaments that our mom’s bought us each year growing up are also some of my favorites. The kids love Brandon’s wooden train and my cat that hangs on lights.

dsc_0004dsc_0009

The newest addition to our ornament collection came from our cruise ship this summer. We try to buy an ornament each time we take a trip and this was a fun reminder of sun, beaches and warmth.

dsc_0005

I also wanted to share with you some of our favorite traditions. We try to celebrate the Christmas season each day, it might be watching a favorite Christmas Movie…

a few of my favorite things... / cozy, wrapped up in a blanket, watching movies...:

You can read about my top ten favorite Christmas movies here.

Another favorite tradition is our school’s Christmas concert and it is followed by our town’s Christmas Parade. You can read about that day here.

img_4526

Decking our halls is a fun tradition we love.

dsc_0039

We LOVE our Elf, George.

img_4578

And you can also read about our other favorite Christmas Traditions in this post.

img_4408

And if you want, here is an idea of a simple way to celebrate Christmas Eve Eve

dsc_0010

This time of year can be so busy, and sometimes it can be really easy to get stressed out about getting all of the traditions in. I know that sometimes I really start to worry about making everything special and over the top and then I remember the real meaning of Christmas, the birth of a King. A humble birth in a manger. Focusing on the true meaning of Christmas helps me slow down, is a good reminder to take a deep breath and be thankful, as well as present in all of the moments.

I am so looking forward to looking at people’s ornaments and reading about traditions. It is always fun to read about how people celebrate and finding new ideas and traditions for my own family to celebrate this very special time of year.

-Jenna

2 thoughts on “2016 Ornament Show and Tell and our Favorite Traditions

    1. Thank you Laura, they are my favorites to look back on. The kids love hanging their ornaments on the tree and comparing each year 🙂 Thanks for stopping in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

