Christmas · Let's Talk

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

Welcome! Today I am linking up with Andrea and Erika and talking about our favorite Christmas traditions. I absolutely love this time of year like so many of you. I love getting new ideas for fun traditions for my family, and maybe you can take away a fun tradition today from my family. These traditions are not earth shattering or new, but they are a fun way to celebrate the season.

Elf on the Shelf

Our Elf’s name is George and he has been with our family since 2011. He always makes his debut on the Friday after Thanksgiving. Usually there are donuts involved. He is a pretty funny little elf.



Christmas Park

A local park decorates for Christmas in a large way. We try and take the kids a couple of times to walk around and look at all the lights. It is a good way to get out of the house and enjoy the season.


Christmas Adam

Also known as  Christmas Eve Eve. This is the day we decorate Christmas cookies and also stop for hot cocoa at a local coffee shop and drive around and look at lights. I love this day for so many reasons. Spending time with my kids and seeing the magic, excitement, and anticipation in their eyes is so much fun.

Christmas Parades

We try to see as many parades as possible.


Santa

Santa comes to our house to do a quick little check and have a quick little chat.However, I am pretty sure that Maddi had it figured out last year, so I don’t think he will be coming this year.




Other traditions

*Advent Calendar: We fill it with little lip glosses, match box cars, or little candies and the kids open it each day.

* Christmas Eve pajamas. We all get new pajamas on Christmas Eve.

*Walk around our neighborhood with cocoa and look at all of the houses lit up.

*Christmas movies-we try to watch one each weekend and then try our best to catch all of the classic Christmas specials on TV. Some of our favorites to watch together are Home Alone, The Polar Express, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Frosty, and Rudolph.

*Christmas Books- Each day Brandon or I read the kids a Christmas book. If we are watching the The Polar Express we read the book, or the The Grinch.

*We always bring attention to the real reason of the season.


*We have also adopted a family in past, or donate to Toys for Tots. This has been a lot of fun because Maddi and Guy get a budget and have to stay within the budget to pick out a toy for a boy or girl their age. This is one of the things they talk most about.

*Gingerbread House. The kids work together on one and it always turns out so cute.

What are your favorite Christmas traditions? Thanks for stopping by today, I look forward to hearing about your favorite Christmas traditions.

-Jenna

6 thoughts on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

    1. Hi Britt, it is so beautiful lit up and the tunnel actually changes colors as you walk through it. There are lots of carolers and hot cocoa and it is always a lot of fun. Have a great Monday!

      Like

  1. You made me think I have another tradition we have not done in a few years. I used to bake a birthday cake and we would sing happy birthday to Jesus on Christmas, I think maybe someday when I have grandchildren that’s something I definitely want to start again. I absolutely love reading about your traditions and I can just picture you all with your cups of cocoa walking around looking at the lights, so fun! I hope you have the best start to your week and have a ball kicking off the wonderful holiday season!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I taught at a small Christian school and we would make Jesus a Birthday cake. They LOVED it. I should do that with my own kiddos, they would love it as well. Thanks for the GREAT idea Andrea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

