Recipe Box

Soft Bake Gingersnaps

dsc_0043-copy

My Great Grandma Lila loves gingersnap cookies. When I make these cookies I always think of her and her cookie jar. When I was younger my family used to load up the car and drive several hours to visit our family in The Dalles, Oregon. My Great Grandma and Grandpa used to live in a little town called Rowena. I can still picture their little green house, perfect yard, and smell the turkey and mashed potatoes (she used to make that anytime we came into town). I can smell the coffee brewing and I can hear my grandpa tapping his spoon on the edge of his coffee cup asking for a refill. I can hear conversations happening around their kitchen table and I can see her cookie jar and know it would be filled with gingersnaps.

dsc_0047-copy

dsc_0028

For this recipe you will need:

1 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup molasses
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups flour
1 tablespoon ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon

In a separate bowl add 3 tablespoons of granulated sugar to roll the dough in.
Preheat oven to 350.

Mix dry ingredients together. I had two cute little helpers in my kitchen.

dsc_0030dsc_0029

I like to mix my dry ingredients together.

dsc_0031

Next mix butter and sugars well (I turn my mixer on high and let the sugar and butter mix together for about one minute. This allows air into the butter and creates fluffier cookies).

dsc_0032

Add the egg and molasses into the wet ingredients and mix well.

dsc_0034

Add the dry ingredients to the mixture and mix well.

dsc_0037

Form a 1 inch ball of dough and roll into the shallow dish of sugar.

dsc_0038

Next, spread the dough balls onto a cookie sheet. Do not worry about greasing your pan if you do not have a silpat. These cookies come up easily without greasing the pan.

dsc_0042

Bake for 8-10 minutes at 350. The dough balls will flatten during the baking.

dsc_0043

Enjoy these cookies with a hot cup of tea.

From my kitchen to yours,
-Jenna

2 thoughts on “Soft Bake Gingersnaps

Leave a Reply

